Board of Directors & Staff of Daviess County

2021 Board of Directors and Staff

Campaign 2021

Your generous contribution will enable us to keep fighting for the health, education, and financial stability of every person

Staff of Daviess County United Way

Zella Taylor, CEO and Executive Director 


Murray Crawford, Executive Assistant

Board of Directors

Jordan Sherman, Board Chair – NASCO Industries

Graduate of Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business (IU) – BS in Accounting & Finance Accounting Manager at NASCO Industries since 2014

“I first became interested in the United Way after learning more about what they do in our
community during my time with Leadership Daviess County. My goal is to help support their mission in improving lives and make Daviess County a place my kids are proud to call home later in their lives. I truly am inspired with how well connected to the community the United Way is and I am thankful for this opportunity to serve on the board.”

AJ Miles, Board Vice Chair – Agent, Burkhart Insurance Agency

I joined the UW because I grew up in poverty and remember using the benefits and programs that UW provides.  I always prayed to God that one day I could be on the giving end of those programs and help make decisions that will continue to help improve the quality of life for people. 

I am a proud husband and father of 2 beautiful daughters and strive to be a better Christian than I was the day before.


Tim Norris, Board Treasurer – Norris Group/Tucker Realtors

I serve on the Board of UWDC because it is the right thing to do to support and serve the organizations that I believe in.

Eric Lane, First Federal Savings Bank, Washington

Graduate of Vincennes University and ISU with MBA

Employed as Vice President at Lending.

“I have been involved with the local United Way since I was Campaign Chair in 1998. I have served on various committees and in 2017, I volunteered a second time as Campaign Chair.  What I like about serving on the United Way board is seeing the benefits that the agencies receive and the number of people that it touches.” 

Stephen Sacksteder, Retired Community Member

Graduate of SIU with a degree in rehab administration.

Stephen was employed at various Four River locations through Indiana. His goal was to help citizens with disabilities and their families to make their lives easier and more enjoyable. He took numerous training and advocating curses to receive the educational background.


“I served on several boards through my career over the past 20 years. I’m excited to apply my gained knowledge and experiences to the local United Way board. I believe in the United Way concept to greatly improve our community and Daviess County.”


Melinda Berry, Department of Child Services

Graduate of North Daviess High School; BS Degree in Social Work from Indiana State University Supporter for over 36 years; Past Board Member of United Way; Active member of the Community Impact Committee since 2017


"Being a board member of Daviess County United Way allows me to give back to my community while supporting the vision & mission of United Way. I feel it is important to advocate for local agencies & being on the Community Impact Committee allows me to use my work knowledge & partnership in assisting agencies success."